A draft resolution on the European Neighbourhood Policy was adopted in the plenary session of the European Parliament on Wednesday.

On paragraph 16 of the resolution, the European Parliament mentioned that the occupation of one state’s territories that is a participant of the “Eastern Partnership” program, by another state which also participates in this program, is a violation of the fundamental principles and objectives of the “Eastern Partnership”.

It was specifically emphasized that the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict should be resolved on the basis of the UN Security Council Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 adopted in 1993 and the basic principles of the OSCE Minsk Group reflected in the L’Aquila Joint Statement of July 10, 2009, Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry told Trend on Wednesday.

In the resolution adopted by the European Parliament for the first time it is emphasized that the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict should be resolved in accordance with UN Security Council resolutions demanding an immediate, unconditional and complete withdrawal of the occupying forces from the occupied Azerbaijani territories and ensuring of Azerbaijan’s territorial integrity, sovereignty and inviolability of its borders.

This resolution of the European Parliament proves once again that the international community supports the settlement of the conflict on the basis of UN Security Council resolutions.
The European Parliament previously adopted resolutions demanding withdrawal of Armenian Armed Forces from the occupied territories of Azerbaijan, the return of these territories under the control of Azerbaijan and ensure the right of refugees and internally displaced persons to return to their homelands, as well as the suspension of sending units of Armenia’s standing army to the Azerbaijani territory.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. Armenian armed forces have occupied 20 per cent of Azerbaijan since 1992, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the U.S. are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the U.N. Security Council’s four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.

Source: Trend.Az